Clicking/cracking noise with Pro V3 and DAC Board

Hello everyone,

I’m new in the arylic/Up2stream world as I was running a multiroom setup with raspberry pis, but LMS was complicated to run correctly, so I moved to a linkplay system :-).

I just installed a few different boards at home (amp v4, Pro v3, amp 2.1 and amp sub, a wiim mini too).

Regarding the amps, nothing to say, it works flawlessly.
Regarding the Pro V3 without any expansion boards, no issues too. But I wanted to get a better sound and installed DAC boards and an Spdif out board.
On the different Pro V3 equipped with the DAC Board and updated to the latest firmware (4.6.337862.29) , I get lots of cracks, clicks and other noises in my sound. It’s not volume related, and not source related (at least between Spotify, tune in etc). Clicks seems to be more present on the right channel.
It gives a “bad frequency sync” impression, like digital clicks and noises.

I had still one pro v3 not updated (still original firmware out of the box, 4.2.8020.12) and tried this one with the DAC board : far better results.
Pro V3 are powered by an USB power supply (5v 2A). Tried a different one, same result.
They are connecter by ethernet and I removed the wifi antenna.

On another Pro V3 equipped with the Spdif output board and a good external DAC, also updated with the latest firmware, I can also hear those clicks and cracks, but they are less audible. It’s more on some calm songs that you hear the “cracks” (something like a vynil effect, but on all the songs…).

Nothing like this on the Amp V4, and the jack output of the Pro V3 seems also OK.

Any idea if I’m doing something wrong somewhere or is it software/firmware related? Should I channge something with ACP in my setup?

Many thanks!

Hi @Brock,

Exactly which connecting cable do you use between the DAC panel and the main panel? It is essential to use the cable provided with the DAC because the other cable is less shielded.

Hi Zitev,