A short story about how I designed a modular and expandable mounting system for Arylic AMP boards.

Table of Contents:

1. Introduction
  2. Backstory? We don’t need no stinkin’ backstory…
  3. Failures in communication…
  4. A beacon of hope?
    Intermission: WHY IS THIS POST SO LONG?!
  5. The Savior of Sound!
  6. Pushing Plastic
  7. Next Steps

1. Introduction:
I am an adult on the autism spectrum. Audio and light are two of the ways I deal with stress. I’m also a senior IT systems engineer for a living. I work with technology day in and day out. I live and breath tech and love to DIY a lot of solutions. I have already sorted out the lighting for my day to day stress relief with a lot of RGBW lighting around the house, most of it homebrew using WLED and addressable LEDs. Enjoy photos of some of the things I’ve done with LEDs.

4’ tall floor lamp:

14" tall “Mega-leaf”

7’ of LED strip

3D printed Moon with addressable LEDs

WLEDsaber

Cat-mas lights.

2. Some backstory:

My wife and I purchased our Mid-Century Modern home (built ca 1959) in 2013 and I immediately launched into the process of automating the home while keeping the design aesthetics in place as much as possible.

One of the areas I’ve struggled with is a whole home audio system. Due to the layout of the home, there are four discrete levels to the home (split level design, everything is half a flight of stairs from everything else), and no clear path for a centralized audio system that makes home-runs to the various zones in each level. Not without cutting out a lot of plaster. Running cabling throughout the home to add Cat6a networking and 16/2 speaker wire was a four year process, and there are still holes in various locations that I have yet to close up.

3. Trials, Tribulations, and Ultimate Failures:
The end goal of the project:

• Centrally controlled whole home audio
  • Home Automation Integration for notifications and control
  • Good sound
  • Good Wife Acceptance Factor