How much power do you need for multiroom?

Hi guys,
I have a couple of questions regarding power:
I’m planning to install 7 in ceiling speakers in 5 zones as shown bellow. For this I’ll use the Upstream Amp V4, they’ll all be in a little room under the stairs with my NAS, receiver and stuff.

If each speaker is like this one (60W) how much power supply would I need? This power supply is 350W. How do you calculate that? is 60W from the speakers RMS?
Is it matter of doing 7x60w = 420w?
And what about the actual board? how much do they consume?

My apologies, I’m a total noob when it comes to speakers and power.
Thank you

1 Like

Hi @Alex_Leiva Alex,

Welcome to the Forum. There are plenty of very friendly people here to help you :slight_smile:

It was a great idea to post diagrams. It makes things so much easier to assess. :+1:

There is unfortunately no empirical answer to your question. It is dictated by an a practical assessment and how you personally judge your situation. I will give you a completely extreme example :-

An Industrial Floor Conveyor System.
There are 200 motors on the system and if we said the motors would all run at the same time the Incoming Supply would be 250A. This Means the Cables to the Main Panel would be big, the switchgear would be big and the cost would be big. However for Functional Needs we know that only 20% of the motors could be running at the same time. So it is valid and practical to size the Incoming Supply and Switchgear to suit maximum consumption. So we end up with a 50 Amp Incoming Supply and Switchgear to suit.

It really is the same in your house. Will all the Speakers be Playing Maximum Volume at the same time ? If this is the case then I would size the Supply on the Maximum.

However there is another factor to consider. Power Rating and Actual Consumption :roll_eyes: You have recognised this in your post.

Another factor is the efficiency of your Speakers :thinking: