Feeling mild current when touching the body of B50 amp

I can feel mild current when I touch the metal body of B50. The tester lights up when i keep it on the GND knob on the backside of the B50. Can anyone suggest how to solve this.

Rgds,
Sanath

@Sanath it would be good to know the exact circumstances, e.g. with which devices is the B50 connected. If there is a galvanic connection with a TV, what is the design of the power supply, etc.

1 Like

@zitev Thanks for the response. My B50 is connected to LG TV with HDMI ARC cable. LG Blu ray player is connected to TV with HDMI cable. Current can be felt on the player also. No other device is connected to B50. Power supply to TV, B50 and Blu ray is from the same power point using a multi socket adapter.

@Sanath ok if you pull the TV cable out of the B50, and then measure the voltage between the device case and the ground again, is there a change?

@zitev Thanks for the guidance. But I am not technically familiar with measuring voltage. I do not have any equipment also. One thing is for sure. The problem is with the power point. If I connect only TV to the power point, I can feel the mild tingle when I touch the hdmi cable connected to TV and the tester also glows. So I am now looking for a electrician to check the earthing in my apartment.

@Sanath Based on your description, there is a good chance that there is no problem with the grounding of the apartment, at least this phenomenon is caused by the ground loop that forms between the cable TV coax and the grounding network of the apartment (the two grounding points are at different potentials, current flows between them). This is a very good solution galvanic isolation of the TV cable, for which this solution can be perfect: https://tiitech.com/product/220/
find a cable TV installer who will install one at the entry point of the coax cable into the apartment, this will eliminate the problem!